Home >> Residents >> Media

Back to Categories : "Media News Items" Article List

North Huron Fire Department Captains Selected

Monday November 16th, 2009

September 29, 2009

The Fire Department of North Huron (FDNH) is pleased to announce the appointment of eight Captains for the new fire department.

Ken DeVries, Steve Readman, Chad Kregar and Kent Readman will serve the new
department from the Wingham Station. Mike McDonald, Paul Kerr, Bill Burkholder and Kevin Falconer will serve the new department from the Blyth Station.

The two-part selection process involved a written exam and an interview before a Promotional Review Board. The Board was made up of two volunteer fire service professionals from elsewhere in the province and one of the new FDNH Deputy Chiefs.

"I am really pleased with the calibre of all the candidates for the Captains positions," commented Fire Chief John Black. "It is a real testament to the abilities and dedication of the members of the two current fire departments. I am looking forward to working closely with the new Captains as we create the new fire service for North Huron."

The new Captains will commence their duties in their positions with the creation of the new fire department on January 1, 2010.
- 30 -