1 Courthouse Square Goderich, Ontario N7A 1M2 www.HuronCounty.ca huronadmin@huroncounty.ca

Phone: 519.524.8394 Toll Free: 1.888.524.8394



#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 30, 2022

**SPOKESPERSON:** Glen McNeil, Warden

519.524.8394 x3224

warden@huroncounty.ca

# Glen McNeil re-elected as Huron County Warden for 2023-2024 term

**Huron County, Ontario** – Huron County Council re-elected Glen McNeil, Mayor of the Township of Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh, as Huron's Warden at the November 30, 2022 Inaugural Session. This next term of Warden is for the 2023-2024 period, which represents the first two years of Council's four-year term.

"I am honoured for this opportunity to continue serving Huron County as its Warden," said re-elected Warden Glen McNeil. "Through the shared determination of Council and staff, I believe this term of County Council will accomplish great things for the Huron community that reaffirms us as a forward thinking and inclusive community".

Warden is the term used to describe the Head of a County Council. Some of the functions of this role include chairing council meetings, providing leadership to council, representing the County at official functions, acting as its official Spokesperson, and more. The position of Warden is achieved through a vote of peers on County Council.

The regional government of Huron County is governed by County Council, which is made up of 15 members from Huron's nine local municipalities. County Council representatives for the 2022-2026 term are:

#### Township of Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh

Mayor | Glen McNeil Deputy Mayor | Bill Vanstone

## **Municipality of Bluewater**

Mayor | Paul Klopp Deputy Mayor | John Becker

#### **Municipality of Central Huron**

Mayor | Jim Ginn
Deputy Mayor | Marg Anderson

#### Town of Goderich

Mayor | Myles Murdock
Deputy Mayor | Trevor Bazinet

#### Township of Howick

Reeve | Doug Harding

### **Municipality of Huron East**

Mayor | Bernie MacLellan
Deputy Mayor | Alvin McLellan

### Municipality of Morris-Turnberry

Mayor | Jamie Heffer

## Township of North Huron

Reeve | Paul Heffer

# Municipality of South Huron

Mayor | George Finch
Deputy Mayor | Jim Dietrich

For more information about Huron County Council, visit www.huroncounty.ca/administration/county-council